Recent Beauty Purchases & My First Impressions

I did not quite meet my goal this month of scaling back on my beauty purchases per se, but compared to other months, my finds were relatively small and inexpensive, and were only things I [kinda-sorta] needed.

robeandrose.com Recent Beauty Purchases

Here are some recent things I picked up and my initial impressions on ’em:

Garnier Whole Blends Coconut Oil & Cocoa Butter Shampoo + Conditioner

Garnier Whole Blends Smoothing Shampoo and ConditionerI didn’t expect this to be anything special based on the reviews I read online of this collection, but I had a great coupon and I’m always up for trying something new. I’m actually quite impressed, albeit the conditioner feels a little heavy for my fine hair, so I only use it sparingly or mix it in with others (I have so many deep conditioners and half used conditioner bottles in my shower so I alternate what I use routinely … a typical girl problem). My hair dries quite nicely, feels healthy and relatively smooth, and while the smell can be strong when you’re using it, it quickly dissipates to a soft, sweet scent that’s left subtlety in the hair. One thing I have noticed is I’m losing heaps of hair right now. I’m having some tests run at my doctors because I generally haven’t been feeling well either, so I can’t say at this stage whether the shampoo and conditioner is to blame, but let me know if you’ve had this issue while using certain shampoos. Overall, I’m pretty impressed and my hair seems to be producing less oil, which is super nice since I try to wash my hair only a couple times a week.

Tonymoly I’m Real Skin Care Facial Mask Sheet Package

Tony Moly I'm Real Sheet MasksI heard about these through Alex via her YouTube channel, and because she’s fab I figured I’d give them a try. I remember trying a sample Garnier sheet mask and really liking it. The process of using one of these feels luxe yet uncomfortable at the same time. The masks themselves are drenched with product that feels serum-y, so that’s a plus. But the recommended time to wear one is 20-30 minutes, and by about 10 minutes I’m ready to tear the sucker off. Unfortunately the eye cut outs are not big enough for my eyes so that adds to the uncomfortable-ness. These also make my face super cold from all the moisture of the mask, so I think these would be good for menopausal women looking for a quick cooling fix. So far I’ve tried the Tea Tree mask and the Seaweed mask to try to help the congestion on my forehead. Haven’t noticed a difference in my skin so far but there’s also no new breakouts either (yay!). So far I’m not super impressed, but I’ll continue to use them. My husband thinks they’re hilarious/scary.

Tony Moly I'm Real Red Wine Mask Sheet Pore Care I have a feeling this pairs perfectly with a glass (or three) of red wine!

Covergirl Super Sizer Fibers mascara

CovergirlReally impressed with this mascara so far. It’s a very dry formula, but my lashes are as straight as John Mayer so a dryer consistency seems to hold curl better for me. One thing I haven’t noticed on the brush or my lashes are actual fibers … but apparently they’re there, I’ve just yet to see them. It’s not the most intense black, but it’s a great work-day mascara. I like this ten times better than the original Super Sizer mascara. DSC02481

Nip + Fab Exfoliate Glycolic Fix Night Pads Extreme

Nip + Fab Glycolic Fix Night PadsThese had great reviews on MakeupAlley and were talked highly about from beauty blogger, Michelle, from BeautyEditor.ca, so when I saw them on sale last week I grabbed a tub without hesitation. I’ve used them a couple times now and have no complaints. I wash my face, pat dry, then apply one of these pads to my entire face (the container says to use 2-3 times a week). They actually leave my face feeling somewhat moisturized, which is nice, and fingers crossed the high percentage of Glycolic Acid helps my clogged pores, which according to MakeupAlley users, these helped a lot with acne and acne-related probs. I like the idea of using acid to exfoliate as well, rather than beads, which have shown to be just horrible for fishys and other living things in our lakes and oceans. And who wants to hurt cute ‘lil Nemo or Dory? C’mon. Those things need to be banned.Nip + Fab Glycolic Fix Night Pads Extreme

Live Clean Exotic Silk Keratin Oil Protective Thermal Spray

live clean keratin oil thermal spray
Warning – the smell of this + a wine hangover = nausea at its most intense :/

I’m unfortunately not digging this. It’s mainly because of the scent. It is so heavily fragranced of coconuts so if you enjoy that, I’m sure you would LOVE this, but for me, it’s way too overwhelming. I will continue to use this as I do like that it’s not chalked full of chemicals, but I think I will go back to my holy grail Tresemme Heat Tamer spray once this one is done.

 

Have you tried any of these products? What are your thoughts on ’em?

Sorry for the lack of posts lately, I have not been feeling well and I’m entering the third week of feeling this way. Boo.

Hope all my Canadian readers have a safe, Happy Canada Day! I’m so grateful to call this beautiful country home. Here’s a pic of my sweet boy celebrating Canada day last year and the year before. He still continues to grow so I’m hoping an XL bandana will fit this year …

robeandrose.com

-L

Leave a Reply

